May 3, 2009

MSCI Elects Eight New Directors, One New Officer

May 03, 2009

MSCI Elects Eight New Directors, One New Officer

PHOENIX, Arizona, May3, 2009 – Eight metals industry executives have been elected to the Board of Directors of the Metals Service Center Institute (MSCI), replacing eight retiring board members, and one new officer has also been elected. The leadership changes were approved today at MSCI’s annual meeting here.

Michael H. Hoffman, president and chief executive officer of Macsteel Service Centers USA, Newport Beach, California, was elected vice chairman of the institute. He has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2004, and a member of the Executive Committee since 2006. He replaces as vice chairman Bill Jones, vice chairman of O’Neal Industries of Birmingham, Alabama, who was elected chairman of the institute.

Newly elected directors include:

  • Gary W. Stein, president, Triple-S Steel Supply Co., Houston, Texas
  • Dennis A. Mullin, president and CEO, Steel & Pipe Supply Company, Inc., Manhattan, Kansas
  • Mark Russell, president, Worthington Industries, Columbus, Ohio
  • David Halcrow, vice president, purchasing and inventory manager, Russel Metals, Inc., Mississauga, Ontario
  • David Schmidt, executive vice president, Alro Steel Corporation, Jackson, Mississippi
  • Chuck Turack, vice president and general manager, North American Region, group sales and marketing, Outokumpu Stainless, Inc., Schaumburg, Illinois
  • James J. Baumann, national sales manager, RathGibson, Inc., Janesville, Wisconsin
  • Karla Lewis, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Reliance Steel & Aluminum Co., Los Angeles, California

“Outstanding member volunteer leaders such as these are among the most important reasons why MSCI has been able to provide timely and relevant programs and services that help all members build a better business,” said M. Robert Weidner, III, MSCI’s president and CEO. “I am delighted that these individuals have agreed to serve on our board, and look forward, along with the entire officer contingent, to working closely with them in the years to come.”

The eight new directors replace eight individuals who are retiring from the board. They include:

  • Steven F. Ambrose, branch manager, Pacific Steel, Pasco, Washington
  • Jack Elrod, president and CEO, TW Metals, Exton, Pennsylvania
  • Robert N. Keeler, vice president, steel sales, The Timken Company, Canton, Ohio
  • Richard T. Marabito, chief financial officer, Olympic Steel, Inc., Bedford Heights, Ohio
  • Neil McCaffery, president and CEO, the Earle M. Jorgensen Company, Lynnwood, California
  • Donald R. McNeeley, president and COO, Chicago Tube & Iron, Romeoville, Illinois
  • Bud Siegel, president and CEO, Russel Metals, Inc., Mississauga, Ontario
  • Howard C. Smith, director, business development and engineering, the Earle M. Jorgensen Company, Lynnwood, California

Founded in 1909, the Metals Service Center Institute has more than 400 members operating from about 1,200 locations in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and elsewhere in the world. Together, MSCI members constitute the largest single group of metals purchasers in North America, amounting each year to more than 55 million tons of steel, aluminum, and other metals, with about 300,000 manufacturers and fabricators as customers. MSCI’s membership also includes almost all ferrous and non-ferrous industrial metals producers in North America. Metals service centers inventory and distribute metals and provide first-stage fabrication services.



Jon Kalkwarf, MSCI vice president and CFO, 847-485-3007 or 773-835-6108