May 4, 2005

MSCI Names Donald R. McNeeley as its New Chairman

May 04, 2005

MSCI Names Donald R. McNeeley as its New Chairman;
Welcomes 10 New Members to Board of Directors

WAILEA, Hawaii, May 4, 2005 – Members of the Metals Service Center Institute (MSCI), gathered at the institute’s annual meeting here, confirmed the appointment Donald R. McNeeley, Ph.D., president and chief operating office of Chicago Tube & Iron Co, Chicago, as chairman of the trade association for the next two years, succeeding Michael F. Petersen, president of Petersen Aluminum Corporation, who became chairman emeritus. Members also confirmed the appointment of 10 new board members representing metals producers and distributors alike.

Dr. McNeeley, who has served as a vice chairman of MSCI, holds an adjunct professorship at Northwestern University’s McCormick Graduate School of Engineering. Prior to teaching at Northwestern, he held a professorship at DePaul University, where he taught the capstone course in the graduate MBA program. It was there that he received DePaul’s Best Teaching Award in 1993 and 1998.

Dr. McNeeley is a graduate of the Harvard Business School. In addition, he is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, George Williams College, Benedictine University, and Columbia Pacific University. He holds B.A., M.S., and M.B.A. degrees, graduating summa cum laude. He also received his Ph.D. with a concentration in Austrian economics, once again graduating with honors. McNeeley has written extensively in his respective fields of expertise. Among his service with the institute, he was most recently chairman of the Editorial Advisory Board of Forward magazine.


New MSCI directors include:

· Terry Dunlap, president, Allegheny Ludlum Corporation, Pittsburgh, PA

· Jack Elrod, president and chief executive officer, TW Metals, Exton, PA

· Richard H. Erickson, president, Erickson Metals Corporation, Cheshire, CT

· Barry Glick, president, Alro Metals Service Center, Boca Raton, FL

· Jack A. Hockema, president and chief executive officer, Kaiser Aluminum Fabricated Products, Liguna Niguel, CA

· Rick Marabito, chief financial officer, Olympic Steel, Inc., Bedford Heights, OH

· Tom Muth, vice president, sales and marketing, Copperweld, Chicago, IL

· Martin J. Napoli, president, NAPCO Steel, Inc., West Chicago, IL

· Jean-Pierre Picard, director, marketing, flat products, Mittal Steel, Westmount, Canada

· Paul J. Winsauer, vice president, human resources, A.M. Castle & Co., Franklin Park, IL

Directors continuing on the board include:

· Daniel J. McCallin, president and chief executive officer, Timberline Steel, Commerce City, CO

· Michael H. Hoffman, president and chief executive officer, Macsteel Service Centers USA, Newport Beach, CA

· Richard Robinson, president, Norfolk Iron & Metal Co., Norfolk, NE

· Edward M. Siegel, Jr., president and chief executive officer, Russel Metals, Mississauga, Ontario

· David Wolfort, president and chief operating officer, Olympic Steel, Bedford Heights, OH

· Lawrence J. 'Bo' Burr, president and chief executive officer, Atlas Steel Products Co., Twinsburg, OH

· Mark Haight, president, Northern Region, Infra-Metals, Wallingford, CT

· James D. Hoffman, vice president, Earle M. Jorgensen Co., Cleveland, OH

· Anthony Leto, executive vice president, The Wagner Cos., Butler, WI

· Frank M. Walker, president and chief executive officer, Feralloy Corp., Chicago, IL

· Jimmie T.G. Coulson, president and chief executive officer, Cd’A Metals, Spokane, WA

· Robert B. Haigh, chairman and chief executive officer, Chicago Tube & Iron Co., Chicago, IL

· Derek A. Halecky, president, PDM Steel Service Centers, Inc., Stockton, CA

· John Lusdyk, president, Southern Region, Infra-Metals, Atlanta, GA

· Jack Malec, president, Great Western Steel Co., Chicago, IL

· Jack Yellen, chairman, Lancaster Steel Service Center, Lancaster, NY

· W. Byron Dunn, president and chief executive officer, Lone Star Steel Co., Dallas, TX

· Michael Parrish, executive vice president, Nucor Corp., Charlotte, NC

· John Tulloch, executive vice president and chief commercial officer, IPSCO Enterprises, Lisle, IL

Directors retiring from the board include:

· Everett P. Chesley, vice president, finance and quality business systems, Integris Metals, Minneapolis, MN

· J. Craig Horan, vice president, sales, specialty tubing, Lone Star Steel Company, Dallas, TX

· Robert Klasing, president and chief executive officer, Tubular Steel, Inc., Hazelwood, MO


Steve Weiner, Readmore Communications, (847) 533-9143


Jonathan Kalkwarf, chief financial officer, MSCI (773) 835-6108


About MSCI

Founded in 1907, the Metals Service Center Institute has more than 350 members operating from about 1,200 locations in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and elsewhere around the world. Together, MSCI members constitute the largest single group of metals purchasers in North America, amounting each year to more than 75 million tons of steel, aluminum, and other metals, with about 300,000 manufacturers and fabricators as customers. Metals service centers inventory and distribute metals, and provide first-stage fabrication services.