March 22, 2021

21 States Sue Biden Administration Over Keystone Pipeline Decision

As CNN reported, a coalition of 21 states has launched a single lawsuit against the Biden administration over its decision to revoke a key permit for the Keystone XL oil pipeline. (Click here for Connecting the Dots’ latest coverage of the White House’s decision on this matter.)

Some of the states represented in the lawsuit have Democratic governors, including Kentucky and Kansas, though all of them have Republican attorneys general. The lawsuit argues revoking the cross-border permit is a “regulation of interstate and international commerce” that should be left to Congress. If successful, the lawsuit could revive the project.

The states involved in the lawsuit are: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Meanwhile, as The Associated Press reported, for the first time ever the U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission factored in a proposed pipeline’s potential greenhouse gas emissions into its approval process when it voted 3-2 to approve 87 miles of natural gas pipeline replacements in South Dakota and Nebraska. Click here to read more.