April 27, 2020

U.S. Extends Restrictions On Non-Essential Travel With Mexico And Canada

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security announced on Monday, April 20 that it has extended restrictions on non-essential travel with Mexico and Canada for an additional 30 days, through May 20. The announcement did not change the parameters of the restrictions originally announced on March 20.

The travel restrictions do not apply to cross-border trade and commerce, but restrict “non-essential travel,” defined as travel for tourism or recreational purposes. DHS provided updated Federal Register notices for Mexico and for Canada that provide additional details about the restrictions.